Local News

October 21, 2013

New Laurel districts: Re-districting causes confusion with voters


The mandatory re-districting of both magisterial and representative districts has caused confusion among many Laurel Countians.

The legislative re-districting is especially mind-boggling, as this year’s appropriations splits Laurel County into even more representative areas.

Laurel County Clerk Dean Johnson recently issued documents to assist Laurel Countians who might question who currently represents them in the state legislature as well as in the local magisterial districts.

“People are confused with the re-districting, especially the magistrate districts,” Johnson said. “The biggest change is the state legislative districts, but people are confused about who their magistrate is with the changes.”

With the new plan, part of the Laurel districts are being placed in the 90th representative district, that formerly included only Clay, Leslie and Harlan counties. Tim Couch is the current representative, but the re-districting places nine Laurel voting precincts in that district, including four of the London precincts.

After the recent re-districting, the new legislative districts and their respective precincts are:

State Representative District 82 - Felts, Keavy, Level Green, South Laurel and Springcut; currently represented by Regina Bunch.

District 85 - Campbell, Cold Hill, Colony, Colony #2, Hart, Hart #2, independence, Liberty, Liberty #2, London #5, Rockhouse, and Sublimity #2; currently represented by Tommy Turner.

District 86 - Campground, Fariston, Fariston #2, Lily, London East, McHargue, Rough Creek, Rough Creek #2, Stansberry, and Sublimity; currently represented by Jim Stewart III.

District 89 - Crossroads, East Bernstadt #1, East Bernstadt #2, London #6, London #7, Maplesville, Oakley, Pittsburg, and Viva; currently represented by Marie Rader.

District 90 - Blackwater, Bush, Johnson, Lake, London #1, London #2, London #3, London #4, and McWhorter; currently represented by Tim Couch.

Magistrates and their respective districts are:

Magistrate District 1 - Campground, London #3, London East, McHargue, Rough Creek, Stansberry, Sublimity and Sublimity #2;  currently held by Roy Crawford.

Magistrate District 2 - Fariston, Fariston #2, Felts, Lily, Rough Creek #2, and Springcut; represented by Danny Smith.

Magistrate District 3 - Blackwater, Bush, Johnson, Lake, London #1, London #2, Maplesville, and McWhorter; represented by Teddy Benge.

Magistrate District 4 - Crossroads, East Bernstadt #1, East Bernstadt #2, Liberty, London #7, Oakley, Pittsburg, and Viva; currently held by Jeff Book.

Magistrate District 5 - Colony, Colony #2, Hart, Hart #2, Liberty #2, London #4, and London #5; represented by Billy Oakley.

Magistrate District 6 - Campbell, Cold Hill, Independence, Keavy, Level Green, Rockcastle, and South Laurel; represented by Noah Baker.

Text Only
Local News
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results