June 14, 2013

Abby Sears to be inducted into KCSA Hall of Fame

By Denis House
Sports Editor

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — After turning in a stellar career at both North Laurel and Union College, Abby Sears will now add a hall of fame induction to her resume.

Sears will be inducted into the Kentucky Coaches Softball Association Hall of Fame this weekend in Louisville, becoming the seventh player from North Laurel to receive this honor. She joins Jennifer Baker (1998), Jimmy Durham (2003), Becky Abner (2007), Sara Crook (2008), Amanda Mills (2010) and Ali Ray (2011).

While at North Laurel, Sears helped guide the Lady Jaguars to the 2008 state championship game. She finished with 142 wins, winning 33 of those games in 2005. For her career, she had 1,313 strikeouts, 17 no-hitters and 54 shutouts.

Sears will be inducted along with Larry Slone (Rowan County), Kristen Allen (Ryle), Rachel Riley (Greenwood), Tony Hayden (Reidland), Cassee Layne (Reidland) and Lauren Caudill (Edmonson County).