Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

January 2, 2014

My Point Is... Wish List for 2014

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — The Christmas wish list is now history and as the new year is just days away, the time has come for  setting new goals and dreams for the upcoming year.

While most realize that a new year symbolizes a new beginning, the past events continue to play a prominent role in what the coming year brings.

As with every new year and throughout that year, the focus of most citizens is their immediate family. Whether the primary concern centers around financial and spiritual stability, or the many who deal with drug abuse and other personal problems, a new year always ignites a spark of new hope.

As of late, concern for the state of the state and state of our nation takes precedence beyond immediate personal issues. The past several decades have brought despair to the citizens of this state, beginning with the elimination of tobacco production during the Clinton Administration. Such action, although warranted due to the rising rates of cancer from tobacco use, put many Kentuckians in a lower financial brackett as a major source of revenue was eliminated from their annual income. While the financial settlements paid off many farmers, this secondary — and sometimes primary — source of income was terminated, leaving many families struggling to replace this income in order to support their families.

The recent “War on Coal” launched by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has further attacked the resources and income that many Kentuckians depended on for revenue. The stricter regulations on mining efforts not only thwarted coal miners, it also affects those in the construction business as new roads through the mountain area of the state were stopped or delayed while the EPA conducted its investigations into the waterways along those areas. Many construction workers were unemployed until these investigations were completed — once again leaving many Kentuckians standing in the unemployment line while the governmental support of stricter regulations and inspections placed the state’s progress in precarious positions. As the demand for elimination of coal as a source of electricity continues, there is almost a guaranteed jump in the costs of electricity for the majority of Kentuckians.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results