Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 3, 2012

You Get The Picture: Guns do not create violence, people do

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — I was literally shooting in the breeze, my camera shutter was clicking madly as assault rifle shots rapidly echoed bouncing off of the tree line.  Members of the Laurel County Sheriff’s Office, military, Kentucky State Police, and assault rifle enthusiasts were all practicing their tactical shooting skills with ease.

I was completely upstaged as my puny DSLR Canon didn’t even compare with the AR 17 rifle that had fire erupting from its slender barrel with each shot fired.  I kept my distance from the massive gunfire for safety, but wasn’t afraid one bit.  Because all present were skilled men who protect our lives daily.

My deep respect allowed me to capture the strict focus and immense precision that each of them carried during the training.  Many people that I know believe guns are an unnecessary evil, but I’m sure if you asked these fellas — guns are necessary because of evil.  Gun violence is an age-old issue that I’m sad to say probably will never have a final resolution.

Guns do not create violence unless the individual is themselves violent.  I understand that this is my own personal opinion and perhaps someone would argue that if guns didn’t exist then no one would be shot in the first place.  But when life gives you lemons make lemonade, and in the case of violent individuals, when life gives you jail time make a shank.  A violent individual will always find a way to wreak havoc on our apparent peaceful lives.

As far as the current presidential candidates go, neither have responded to calls for a debate on how to prevent gun violence.  Although, President Obama reported in the New York Times that he favored new gun control initiatives to protect Second Amendment rights, although he called for an assault-weapons ban four years ago.  Former Massachusetts governor Mitt Romney moved away from his position on the issue, in which he previously supported background checks and the ban of some assault weapons.

Neither candidate has mentioned making a change to current gun policy despite tragedies such as the mass shooting in Aurora, Colo., this year, and the 28 mass killings that have occurred in the U.S. since two teenagers rampaged at Columbine High School in Littleton, Colo.  The future leader(s) of the U.S. are simply playing it safe and my viewpoint is that communities need to play it safe as well.  

I strongly disagree with the OK for assault weapon ownership for individuals without tactical training for law enforcement purposes.  And no, Batman is not applicable for that category.  Personally, my faith is stronger than a weapon and I don’t feel the need to carry one around for my personal protection.  But if the time ever came to protect someone I love, you better believe that I would feel the need to defend them.

As the day of shooting in the cool breeze came to a close, I felt comfort in knowing members of the community have dedicated their livelihood and extracurriculars to protecting me, my family and friends.  Their calling is to defend for honor, love and safety — not for the sake of violence.

mmccrarey@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results