Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

February 7, 2014

On The Rebound: These birds could be around a while

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — There is something about the Seattle Seahawks Super Bowl championship that looks familiar. Since it is the team’s first title, it’s not déjà vu.

The team is led by a charismatic coach that was plucked from the college ranks. A young quarterback guided the team not as much by being spectacular than by not making mistakes.  The defense was not only good, they were nasty.

I think they could be the Dallas Cowboys.

The Dallas Cowboys went 14 seasons between Super Bowl wins before routing the Buffalo Bills 52-17 in Super Bowl XXVII. Their defense forced a record nine turnovers in that game. Seattle’s long-awaited Super Bowl win was also led by the defense, which shut down the league’s most prolific offense for a 43-8 decision over the Denver Broncos.

Both teams were built through the draft. The Seahawks used their picks wisely getting value for lower round choices. Dallas went on a shopping spree after gaining multiple picks in the Hershel Walker trade.

Will Seattle have a chance to repeat? There is every indication they will be around for a while. The Seahawks have the fourth youngest roster with no critical free agents or salary burdens. Quarterback Russell Wilson makes just over $600,000, which is low on the NFL pay scale.

No team has repeated as Super Bowl champion since the New England Patriots in 2003-04. Las Vegas has already chosen the Seahawks as the favorite to win next season. Although completely possible, it will be harder for the Seahawks to get there than to win it. Their toughest competition will likely come from their own division with teams like San Francisco, Arizona, and St. Louis also on the uptick.

After winning the Super Bowl in 1992, the Cowboys won again in 1993 and 1995. The dynasty began to crumble after the 1993 win though after owner Jerry Jones feuded with coach Jimmy Johnson. Johnson would resign and be replaced by Barry Switzer. Free agency and injury also took their toll on the Cowboys, who have not won a Super Bowl since.

It is hard to imagine the fate of the Seahawks running parallel to Dallas. There is little chance Pete Carroll will be run out of town like Jimmy Johnson. The youth of the players might help protect them against injury other than the already hobbled Percy Harvin. Free agency won’t be an immediate issue.

It’s a good time to be a Seahawk fan as shown by the 700,000 that showed up for the Super Bowl parade. Yet dynasties seem to be a thing of the past in a league where ratings and revenue are driven by parity.

mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results