Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

December 14, 2012

On The Rebound: Belcher situation tragic

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — After Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Jovan Belcher tragically took his life and the life of girlfriend Cassandra Perkins, NBC sportscaster Bob Costas took the opportunity to rail against our right to bear arms. Although Costas has a right to his opinion and a forum to express it, it does not mean we have to agree. Nor does it mean he is right. The same can be said for this sports writer and his opinion.

The recent tug and pull between those that own guns and those that would ban them has reached an impasse that will never be breached. This leaves states like Kentucky, where we are outdoorsmen raised with guns, to pass laws to further protect our rights. The rush to buy guns when President Obama was elected grew from the fear that these guns would be taken away. I have spoken to people that are burying guns near their home so they can never be confiscated. A little outlandish, but we live in outlandish times.

Just after the tragedy in Kansas City, there was another sobering incident in the NFL. An accident involving two members of the Dallas Cowboys led to the death of a passenger and arrest of the driver for DUI. Yet there was no outcry for the abolishment of alcohol sales. Details about the Belcher murder-suicide later include the fact Belcher had a “wild night of partying” before committing his crime. Belcher had also undergone financial trouble and relationship counseling. So to blame the gun for this incident is like blaming the rain for the leak in your roof. There were plenty of issues before Belcher picked up the gun.

It is more an indictment of the times when jobs, financial, and relationship stress are often more deadly than a bullet. I do not remember murder suicides generations ago when guns were just as prevalent, but peace of mind more attainable. We lived simply, loved more unconditionally, and forgave.

If I were raised in New York or Los Angeles the opinion might differ. If my only knowledge of guns were that when someone picks one up then someone else dies. Instead I was raised where we are taught at an early age to respect guns and opinions.

I pray the families find some comfort in this tragedy and the child that has been orphaned is raised with love. I still do not blame guns for the events that unfolded. I blame the times we live in today.

mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results