Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 16, 2013

My point is... Meeting with the Millers

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —

The crisp autumn mornings provide a picturesque setting for photographers as the fog rises from the cleanly cropped fields lined by trees whose tops are bursting into their brilliant orange, reds and yellows that signify the fall season.

The lake at the J. M. Feltner 4-H Camp on Ky. 229 provides a peaceful setting for fall photographers with its colorful trees and trails.

But the second weekend in October at this local resort is anything but quiet.

Each year on that particular weekend, a group of Millers converge to the site, celebrating their annual Miler Family Reunion that kicks off with a hot dog and marshmallow roast, followed by singing around the campfire.

Laughter drifts across the lake in the dark of Thursday evening, while the aroma of roasting hot dogs fills the air, followed by the melodious voices blending together in a harmony that can only be described as divine.

On Friday night, even more of this clan gather in the clubhouse to bask in the joy of family and feast on favorite foods. From chicken and dumplings, to meatloaf, all the fixings proper for a hungry bunch that love to eat are just the mainstream of the meal. Another table stretched along the side of the building offers tempting desserts that make the sugar level skyrocket and the taste buds melt with desire.

Mixing and mingling with family from near and far highlights the meal, complimented by games, an auction, and other activities. The most recent addition to this gathering of the Miller Family is the auction and country store that offers items from the past and present.

The silent auction (not always so silent) allows for memorabilia from those gone on to be distributed to the highest bidder by other family members. Last year proved to be an exciting showdown for certain items, but I was the winner of the old porcelain jug that my grandmother used as a door stop. Now, the jug is absolutely worthless moneywise, but had been given to another family member years ago. It was only right that once it went up for auction, it should return to the direct family line where it originated!

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results