Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

May 28, 2014

My Point Is...Memorial Day is a big deal

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — As most of you read this column - after the mail runs on Tuesday - I will be returning from six days off. I usually take a few days each May, primarily to make Memorial Day flowers. I was fortunate enough to inherit some craftiness from my mother, who dutifully made floral arrangements for family who had gone on before. It was routine to see flowers on her parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles each Memorial Day - even if it was just a simple few flowers tied together with a simple ribbon.

After my father died in 1983, I began my own tradition and after moving back here 20 years ago, I took over the floral making for Mom whose hands were not so spry from carpal tunnel syndrome, two strokes and two open heart surgeries.



The world had become less simple but more expensive as we split the cost of flowers and I carefully crafted headsprays and vase flowers for family members who had gone on before. In our family, Memorial Day weekend is a big deal.

It marks “Homecoming” at our community church, Sinking Creek Baptist. More commonly known as “Decoration,” the weekend is marked with decorating the cemetery on Saturday and a morning and afternoon singing service that highlights the blend of four-part harmony gospel songs, interjected between dinner prepared by some of the best cooks in the county - who also have some of the best voices for the beautiful melodies that float out from the church walls on the Sunday before Memorial Day each year.



Many of the traditional voices that marked Sinking Creek Church and people who called the community home are marked by gravestones in the cemetery just across the roadway from the church.

But their descendants continue the tradition, coming from their respective states and churches to honor the tradition set centuries ago.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results