Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 12, 2012

On The Rebound: Fans need to check their manners

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — There were a lot of tears after the North Laurel Lady Jaguars lost to Corbin in the first round of the 49th District Tournament. It was the end of the career for All State keeper Kendall Ellington, Kendra Smallwood, and Amy Corum. It was the finale of a season when the Lady Jaguars felt and showed they could compete with the Lady Redhounds.

If you could erase a late goal by Amerah Dixon, the outcome could have been different. Dixon did what great players do. She stepped up and made an impossible shot at an impossible angle at a time her team had to have it. I do not know Dixon, but wanted to tell her it may have been the most amazing goal I had seen at the high school level. At this level, success should be celebrated for every player.

The loss was not what all the tears were about.

Late in the first half North Laurel’s Allison Blanton collided with Corbin keeper Sydni  Roaden.  It was a horrible accident that left Roaden with a broken jaw, broken teeth, and a helicopter ride to Lexington to face hours of surgery.

The mood of some fans turned nasty. Blanton was making a fair play for the ball. She was given a yellow card, but it was as much to appease the fans as anything she had done wrong.

Most troubling to me was that for the second time this season, South Laurel trainer Karen Broughton was treated rudely. She doesn’t need me to defend her because Momma K is tougher than I will ever be. Just let it be said as plain as possible that she will care for your child professionally and with love regardless of what you say to her. She does not see a team jersey or an opponent lying on the ground, she sees hurting child. But when she is spoken to rudely or told to leave, I wish the officials could red card the offender for being obnoxious. She is the best friend the child has at that point. Shut up and let her work.

Even before this event, the cheering took a turn for the ugly. Every time another player touches your little Susie or Sally it is not a foul. Every time there is a call against you it is not cheating. Occasionally your opponent will do something right that results in a goal.

To say that North Laurel would coach its players to play dirty is  foolishness. I have been to most games and some practices. My daughter plays at the middle school level. You can say that keeps me from making an objective opinion. I say it gives me insight. North Laurel is coached to play hard, but with respect. Most games they needed to be more aggressive, not less.

Fans have a right to cheer and even boo. To jeer another player at this level is not necessary. Celebrate the good because high school sports are about building character and encouraging kids. It is not about trying to hurt anyone. Nothing should come out of your mouth that you wouldn’t say to your own team.

mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results