Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 31, 2012

Direct Kick: NHL owners, players offering tricks, not treats

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Halloween. My favorite holiday of the year. I love things all spooky and scary. Things that go bump in the night. Costumes and candy. One of my favorite books is “The Halloween Tree” by Ray Bradbury. If you get a chance you should read it.

The National Hockey League is playing a little trick or treat right now as the lockout continues. Once again it’s a battle over money. Both sides are looking to trick each other and wanting to keep the treats for themselves.

And once again, like in all these cases, it’s the fans who suffer.

I have a hard time feeling anything but contempt for both sides whenever these issues come up. We are talking about millionaires and in some cases billionaires battling over money. The average NHL player makes $2.45 million a year. The average value of an NHL team is $240 million. How much money does a person need? Especially when a good portion of players are broke within five years after retiring, according to some studies.

Of the four major sports, the NHL has the lowest television ratings, so the sport relies on ticket revenue. Last season, the typical NHL team relied on gate receipts for half of their revenue. Compare that to the average NFL team, which has the richest television deal (divided equally among teams), to less than 25 percent of its revenue from ticket sales. The NBA got 33 percent while MLB, 25 percent.

The last time the NHL had a lockout, in the 2004-05 season, fans came back in droves to see their teams the following season. In fact, 25 of the 30 teams had an increase in attendance from the 2003-04 season. So instead of punishing the owners and players, fans rewarded them by making their salaries and value of teams go up.

If fans would just stay away after a lockout like this happens, owners and players might think twice when it comes time to negotiate contracts.

All four major leagues have had strikes and lockouts, sometimes multiple, and still the fans come back for more. Have we become that dependent on sports that we continue to go back after every strike, just to make owners and players richer and richer while the average fan continues to struggle to make ends meet? Ticket prices are outrageous, as are concessions, parking, fan apparel, etc.

Maybe it’s time we stop depending so much on sports to entertain us. Maybe it’s time we put a hurting on their wallets instead of ours.

sports@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results