Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

November 25, 2013

A Canuck in Kantuck: The sailboat for your skin

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Gabrielle and I were at the pharmacy the other day waiting to get our flu shots when I noticed a familiar bottle sitting on the bottom shelf. We were sitting on the bench they reserve for people who are waiting forlornly for their prescriptions, and we’d just had a reasonable amount of fun taking our blood pressure by plunging our arms down that ever-tightening tube they have. But now, with the school day’s highlights reviewed, my email checked and nothing interesting on the Facebook feed, we were just waiting and staring in front of us.

And that’s when I saw the Sea Breeze.

For those of you unfamiliar with this product, I’d wager to say you didn’t have problems with pimples when you were a teen. I can firmly say I did not fall into that category. Instead, I was painfully familiar with this astringent that makes your face feel temporarily feel nice and cool — like it’s been kissed by a breeze — because it swipes away any oil that might be naturally occurring there.

My first encounter with it was at my cousin Lisa’s house at the age of about 10. I noticed the bottle sitting on her bathroom shelf in large part because of the wistful sailboat it had on the front of it. I instantly loved that boat for some reason — I actually love anything to do with the water, even though I get seasick — and I picked it up off the shelf and asked Lisa what it did.

Now, my cousin Lisa was just about the best cousin you can imagine. She was three important years older than me, but never made me feel too young or extraneous. In fact, she took me everywhere she went and, since she was absolutely beautiful, was admired with every step she took. Being that Lisa lived in the city, while I lived in a suburb considered the country, I always thought she went to feverishly interesting places, whether it was just walking to the corner store to get a Slurpee or to the playground where the bad kids had swung the swings over the top bar over and over so you couldn’t use them. Anything and everything was interesting when Lisa was involved, and she indulged me constantly, not even minding when I fell in love with all her boyfriends.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results