Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

March 21, 2013

You Get The Picture: A devil of time removing wallpaper

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — I really want to know, what inspired women in the 90s to plaster flamboyant floral wallpaper in their homes from ceiling to floor?  In my opinion, it was the worst thing anyone can do to depreciate the value of their own home, and I came to this conclusion after nine grueling hours of scraping bits of paper off a bathroom wall.

During some time off last week, I decided I was going to make my overachieving self conquer three bathroom projects.  Ridiculous, I know.  The first was a half-bath with 60s sherbert floral wallpaper, a sight quite unpleasing to the modern eye.  But since I seem to have an odd sense of favor for vintage, I was kind of sad to see the ill-colored monstrosity go.  

The first rip of paper is always the most nerve-wracking. It could either fall off with ease like the fur of a golden retriever or barely budge like a stubborn 2-year-old.  The half-bath’s paper came off smooth — no tools or chemicals necessary.  I ripped off all of the layers in a matter of 15 minutes, and it was surprisingly fun!  

Tearing up the walls was so entertaining, it was like therapy. I dedicated my last tug to the annoying cat outside who incessantly meows.

The next day, I was ready to rip off two layers of wallpaper in the much larger full bathroom.  How hard could this one be?  The first rip gave me a clue.  R-I- no “p.” Only a stubborn shred the size of a dime fell to the floor.  I tried again, and again, but nothing would budge.  So I took a large scraping tool in my right hand and a spray bottle of paste remover in my left.  Two hours later with some help, we barely scoured one wall.  We seriously thought the paper was sealed with a deal from the devil himself.

Two days later, once my hand felt like it wasn’t trying to develop arthritis 30 years too early, I singularly conquered the wall with a steamer and prayer.  I vowed to not leave the bathroom until all the blasted wallpaper was destroyed.  Approximately seven hours later, I looked like I was in a Russian bath house and the floor looked as if I was hosting a family of guinea pigs.  

Next on the agenda, I’m painting both bathrooms and an additional full bathroom.  Stripping wallpaper makes painting look as easy as pie, so I’m actually looking forward to the painless slice of the project.  

Words to the wise, never ever wallpaper your home, and never think that it will only take a couple of hours to remove.  Most importantly, if you happen upon a house with wallpaper, make sure the previous owners did not cut a deal with the devil.  

mmccrarey@sentinel-echo.com

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results