Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

December 3, 2013

Points East: My Black Friday shopping

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — With black Friday upon us, I’m making a point of having at least two good books ready to keep me company all day.  Loretta is clipping store advertisements and intends to join the craziness.  I may shop online for some good books to give the kids and grandkids.  I can’t think of a better gift than a good novel by an Appalachian author, so before the weekend is over I’ll be perusing the inventory on Heritage Nook’s website and writing a check.

I trade at Heritage Nook  because the owner, Brenda Salyers, does more to promote central Appalachian writers than anybody I know and, if you search her catalogue, you’ll also discover that she stocks well over 200 titles written by folks from the hills that I call home.  

 Heritage Nook Books, 8009 Main St.,  P.O. Box 373, Pound, Va. 24279.  Check out the website at www.heritagenook.com or call Brenda Salyers at 276-796-4604. Or stop by the store and browse next time you’re in Pound. You save a bunch of money by shopping in the store.

  Hot on the heels of Clinch River Justice comes Honaker Virginia native and recently retired Dean of  Eastern Kentucky University Business School, Alfred Patrick’s, latest book entitled Clinch River Echos. 

Readers may recall a recent review of Al’s Clinch River Justice in this column just last month.  Echos is not a sequel to the first book, but the setting, deep in the rugged hills and hardscrabble farms of southwest Virginia is the same and a few characters from Justice do make cameo appearances in the second book.  If you liked Clinch River Justice, you will absolutely love Clinch River Echos.  

Al Patrick’s hobby is hiking our nation’s premier trails.  With C.R. Echos, he has certainly found his literary stride. The tale is another murder mystery romance  in which the author also explores the ignorant ugliness of bigotry and violent crime. Al continues to capture our mountain language  (“the copperhead was quiled in the middle of the path”) and his writing style makes me feel like I was right there.  Heritage Nook ships the book for $19, $24 for CR Justice or $36 for both when bought as a set, a savings of $7.  Or order directly from the author:  Al Patrick, P.O. Box 2077, Richmond, Ky. 40476.  Email Al at: athiker37@ bellsouth.net or phone him at 859-623-4290.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results