Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

July 10, 2013

Direct Kick: Some interesting advice from Dr. James Andrews

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Over the years, the landscape of sports has shifted. More and more young players are devoting time to just playing one sport instead of taking part in various athletic endeavors. Whether this is good or bad is debatable.

Travel teams for almost every team sport (football being the exception) have grown over the last 10 years, especially baseball. The reason I bring this up is because I recently read an interview on cleveland.com with Dr. James Andrews, the world-renowned orthopedic surgeon that almost every professional athlete goes to when they need to be put back together. Andrews has gotten rich doing this. In 2010, Sports Illustrated named him one of the top 40 most powerful people in the NFL. He specializes in knees, elbows and shoulders. He was the one who operated on the right knee of Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III. So he knows a thing or two about sports injuries.

Andrews said he started seeing a sharp increase in youth sports injuries, particularly baseball, starting around 2000. He feels like there are two main reasons why this is happening: Specialization and professionalism.

Specialization is playing one sport year-round. Professionalism is working children at a young age like they are pro athletes in terms of training and year-round activity. In both cases, more is definitely not better. And in many of these cases, it’s because parents have a dream of their child earning a college scholarship or becoming a pro athlete. What most parents don’t realize is that it’s a small percentage who actually attain either. As Andrews said, “the odds against it (becoming a pro) are so very, very high. Even the ones who get college scholarships comprise a much smaller percentage than parents think.”

He’s right.

Let’s look at a local example.

Last school year (August 2012-May 2013) Laurel County had around 25 athletes signed to play various sports in college. Not bad. But consider that more than 650 athletes compete in all the high school sports the county has to offer, and the percentage of athletes signing to play in college is very minuscule.

But back to the gist of this column. Avoiding injuries in young athletes.

When asked what the best advice he would parents of a young athlete, Andrews replied: “The first thing I would tell them is, their kid needs at least two months off each year to recover from a specific sport. Preferably, three to four months.” He was using youth baseball as an example here.

He added they don’t need to do any kind of overhead throwing, any kind of overhead sport, and to let the body recover in order to avoid overuse situations.

So that pretty much means, if they are playing middle school or high school baseball, that would all but kill summer travel ball, if parents are really interested in keeping their child injury-free.

Andrews referred to Tommy John surgery, which is an adult operation designed for professionals. But he said in his practice now, 30 to 40 percent of the ones he’s doing are on high schoolers, even down to ages 12 or 13. Imagine that. Children that young coming in with torn ligaments.

As for pitchers throwing a curveball, Andrews said his rule of thumb is, don’t throw the curveball until you can shave, until your bone structure has matured and you have the neuromuscular control to be able to throw the pitch properly. And most youngsters don’t throw with good mechanics. I have seen pitchers during the 11-12 year old tournament throwing curves.

Remember, this is a man who makes a living off of operating on athletes, so for him to want to see less and less injuries says something.

He has a lot of other good points in the article for young pitchers, such as don’t play one sport year round, use proper mechanics and avoid the radar gun. If you play just one sport year round, you are overusing certain muscles, which can lead to injuries. Play multiple sports so all your muscles are used.

It’s a really good read, and an eye-opener. If you want to read it yourself, go to http://www.cleveland.com/dman/index.ssf/2013/02/noted_surgeon_dr_james_andrews.html.

sports@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results