Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

August 16, 2012

You Get The Picture: He’s got a hand in it

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Some may call it chance, luck or coincidence — but I know better than that.  As of late

I’ve been having the strangest things happen to me and, there’s no doubt in my mind, there’s a bigger hand in it all.

A couple weeks ago, I was traveling up I-75 North helping my boyfriend transport a queen-size mattress that decided in all its majesty to take flight.  We both peered with wide-eyes into the truck’s side mirrors as it flew into the path of an 18-wheeler, was ran over by one and almost caused a horrific accident.

All the color left our faces, but we calmly talked to each other about our plan of action, pulled over, and backed up.  Semi-trucks swerved to miss the mattress and a distracted driver on her cell phone almost hit us in the emergency lane — but we made it.  The mattress was within reach and we grabbed it.

Nothing makes your heart beat faster than near-death experience, and I’m not exaggerating one bit.  The mattress episode wasn’t luck, and neither was the moment six cars slammed on their brakes in the fast lane on I-75 last weekend.  

It is beyond me why cars decide to weave in and out of lanes like they’re creating a roadway basket of disaster, but they do it anyway, and my life flashed before my eyes.  A van shot out of my lane and squeezed in front of a semi-truck causing everyone to behold a heart-pounding scene of cars plummeting from 70 mph to zero.  Everyone screeched and squealed, including me and my boyfriend, who was driving directly in front of me.

In that moment of scared silence, I could barely look into my rear-view mirror.  If anyone was going slam into me it would have been out of my control.  The entirety of the hour drive from then on was spent with a cautious mind and thankful heart.  Someone had to be without a doubt watching over us, protecting us.

Although our protector isn’t always visible, I know He’s there.  Some would call it chance, luck or coincidence that we made it safely off of the dangerous roadways, but I call it God, who is our refuge and strength, a faithful and ever-present help when in trouble.

mmccrarey@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results