Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

July 18, 2013

Direct Kick: Gay, the latest fall from grace

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — As Major League Baseball prepares to dish out severe suspensions to some of its top-name athletes due to using Performance Enhancing Drugs, news out of track and field reveal that Kentucky native Tyson Gay has tested positive and will pull out of the world championships next month in Moscow, thus denying fans a much-anticipated showdown with Usain Bolt.

Gay admits his “A” sample came back positive and that he will have his “B” sample tested, but noted he will accept his punishment “like a man.”Gay said he put his trust in someone and was let down, but wouldn’t identify that someone or what PED he tested positive for.

It was just a few years ago Gay participated in the U.S. Anti-Doping Agencies “My Victory” program where athletes pledged to compete clean. Now that pledge means nothing, as Gay becomes another in a long list of athletes wanting to gain some type of chemical advantage over their opponents.

Gay has battled injuries over the past few years, and I’m sure that played some role in this. He was finally healthy and won the 100 and 200 at the U.S. Nationals last month. He found himself back in the conversation as “world’s fastest man.” Now his reputation has been tarnished and I don’t know if he will ever recover.

But Gay isn’t the only athlete tied to PEDs right now. Major League Baseball is expected to hand down some serious suspensions after Tuesday night’s All-Star game to some of baseball’s biggest stars. Alex Rodriguez, Ryan Braun and maybe as many as 20 others are facing 50 game suspensions and maybe more. Some have reported A-Rod might get 150 games, while others are reporting that MLB is trying to cut a deal with A-Rod to reduce his suspension. Not sure what they hope to accomplish with that unless they have some serious charges against him with hopes he will spill the beans on other players. If not, then why cut a deal with him? Treat him like any other player. He’s not God’s gift to baseball. In fact, he’s far from it. A-Rod? More like A-Fraud.

Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results