Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

July 3, 2014

Wilma Reid Stillings

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —

Wilma Stillings, 74, of West Laurel Road, London, Ky., passed away Saturday, June 28, 2014, at Baptist Health Hospital in Corbin, Ky.

Born May 24, 1940 in Manchester, Ky., she was the daughter of the late Elbert and Ora Halcomb Reid.

She was a homemaker and member of Horse Creek Holiness Church, Manchester, Ky.

 She was preceded in death by her parents; her husband, Albert Stillings; a daughter, Linda Stillings; a sister, Faye Downey; two brothers, Leemon Reid and Eddie Reid; and a grandson, Eugene Goff.

Mrs. Stillings is survived by three daughters, Donna Napier and husband Gary and Pattie Ruggles and husband Bob, all of London, and Anna Miracle of Rochester, N.Y.; a son, T.J. Stillings of Brunswick, Ga.; seven siblings, Mona Allison, Brenda Jarvis, Sandra Henson, Phyllis Reid, Bobbie Stevenson, Shirley Robinson and Danny Reid; eight grandchildren, Preston Napier, Nicholas Napier, Travis Stillings, Chris Stillings, Will Ruggles, Kim Maldonado, Julie Nagel, and Ashely Goff; four great-grandchildren, MaKenna, Zachariah, Gabi, and TaKoda. She was also blessed with a host of other relatives and friends to mourn her passing. 

Funeral service for Wilma Stillings was conducted at 2 p.m. Tuesday, July  1, in London Funeral Home Chapel with Pastor Bobby Helton and Bob Combs officiating. 

Burial followed in Hurd Cemetery in Manchester, Ky.

Pallbearers were T.J. Stillings, Preston Napier, Nicholas Napier, Danny Reid, Jeff Allison and Allen Peerce.

The family received friends at London Funeral Home after 6 p.m. on Monday, June 30.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results