Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

July 3, 2014

Gordon Wayne Weston

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —

Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

He was the son of Eleanor Carnahan Weston and the late Lisle William Weston.

He was born in Indiana, Pa., on Nov. 29, 1952.  He graduated from Indiana Area Senior High School in 1970 and attended Penn State University New Kensington Branch for Drafting and Design Technology.  On December 23, 1971, Gordon married Pamela Susan Orr of London, Ky.  He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church in London.

Gordon began his career in London, working for Greenhill Mining, Inc. He then used his numerous talents and skills to establish several businesses: Corner Convenience in Elderton, Pa.; Madison Kitchen and Bath in Madison, Ind.; and Weston Properties in London, Ky. He came full circle and ended his career in London working for Salem Tool, Inc.

Gordon enjoyed a full life of traveling, golfing, fishing, and especially spending time with his family and friends. All who knew and loved Gordon will remember his kindness, his sense of humor and his strength of character. He spent his life demonstrating the importance of truthfulness, responsibility, and hard work all while making the best of each and every day.  

He is survived by his loving wife Pamela; son Gregory (Blythe), London; three daughters, Julie (Chris) Wade, Madison, Ind., Leslie (Brandon) Parker, Globe, Ariz., and Angela (Gernot) Wieczorek, Milton, Ky.; his mother, Eleanor Weston, Shelocta, Pa.; two brothers, Clark (Jan), Indiana, Pa., and Paul (Heide), Creekside, Pa.; four sisters, Janet (Art) Black, Renfrew, Pa., Ruth (Ron) Succheralli and Claire Ann (Tim) Pinkerton, both of Shelocta, Pa., and Kelli (Ron) Breightmyer, Templeton, Pa.; and seven grandchildren, Eliza Weston, Cora Beth and Tate Wieczorek, Ruby, Lena Blue and Evelyn Parker, and Carlisle Howard.  

He was preceded in death by his father, Lisle William Weston and his grandparents Lisle and Gladys Weston and Taylor and Esther Carnahan.

Visitation was held Monday, June 30, at First Presbyterian Church, 123 Keavy Rd., London, at 10 a.m. with a service following at 12 noon, with the Rev. Dr. Tim Noel officiating. 

Private interment was at Cumberland Memorial Gardens.

In lieu of flowers the family requests donations be made to the American Cancer Society Hope Lodge, 1500 College Way, Lexington, Ky., 40502 or First Presbyterian Church, 123 Keavy Road, London, Ky., 40744.  

  Arrangements made by London Funeral Home.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results