Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

January 16, 2014

Traces of Laurel: J.T. Williams

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — I have researched the Williams families (my maiden name was Williams) and as far as I can determine there were two family groups by that name in early Laurel County.  My branch came from North Carolina and settled in the Raccoon section, migrating into what became the East Bernstadt/Pittsburg area.  The other Williams clan lived in the Laurel River section of the county and some of them migrated into London.  I can’t say for certain that these two families  were unconnected to each other but I’ve never found evidence of this.  J.T. Williams, the subject of this week’s sketch, was from the Laurel River branch and became one of London’s foremost merchants. 

Writing of him, Charles W. Kellogg said:  “Mr. J.T. Williams, who is so well and favorably known as a prosperous businessman, was born of worthy parentage.  His father, Harvey Williams, was one of Laurel County’s most respected citizens.  He (meaning J.T.) has held several county offices, all of which were filled with ability and such fairness as to guarantee to him the utmost confidence of his constituents. He served two terms as sheriff soon after the late war, when the country was in a very unsettled condition resulting from the strife.  Politics were at fever heat, and shooting scrapes of frequent occurrence.  His promptness in arresting and bringing criminals to justice no doubt had much to do with putting Laurel County to the front and giving her the peaceable and law-abiding reputation that she now enjoys.  On account of his promptness is settling the revenue, the State Auditor placed thousands of dollars in his hands for collection against defaulting officers in other parts of the Commonwealth.”

Kellogg goes on to tell of Williams’ terms as School Superintendent and Chairman of London’s Board of Trustees.  As a trustee, according to Kellogg, Williams arranged to have Main Street ‘macadamized’ which, says Kellogg, “is a great improvement over the impassible road we once had.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results