Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

February 10, 2014

Points East: Starting a garden in winter

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Every year, just before the winter holidays, for the past 12 or so, Loretta and I have been getting a big country ham from Jimmy Robinson at Robinson Premium Meats in East Bernstadt.

Cooking and baking a country ham is a three-day job, the way Loretta goes about it.  We used to hire Loretta’s now-retired coworker, Adella Stevenson there in Lancaster to do up our seasonal ham, but Loretta finally decided Adella had divulged all her secrets so she’s been doing it herself over the last decade or thereabouts. 

Don’t be asking me how she does it. I have neither the time,  space nor inclination here to write a book. I will say the process involves many, many hours of soaking in such things as vinegar and Dr. Pepper and several hours of boiling in a canner and then hours of skinning, trimming and deboning before it finally goes into the oven.

We eat on it for days and then stash bags of it in the freezer to season beans and mustard greens from now until next year.

 Last summer at the height of gardening season, I dried half a bushel of white half runners into shuckey beans.  I didn’t properly string them up with a needle and twine and hang them out to dry on a clothes line, the way we had to growing up. I simply broke them up and sun dried them on cheese cloth that I’d placed over an old window screen. 

I’m the only person in our household who loves them, because Loretta is afraid that a fly may have lit on them while they were drying.  Please don’t tell her that rabbits probably peed on her green beans before she picked them.

Anyway, shuckey beans are not fit to eat, in my humble opinion, unless they’ve been simmered for several hours and then cooked down with a big chunk of country ham.  Ditto for turnip and mustard greens.  I buy a lot of canned greens in the store.  I like to drain the water they are packed in into a microwave safe bowl, add a chunk or some ham trimmings to it and nuke it for about 5 minutes.  Then I pour the water and ham back over the greens in a kettle and bring it to a hard boil on the stove.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results