Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

February 20, 2014

Publisher's Notebook: Duck Dynasty secret revealed

(Continued)

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —

Razors join movie theater popcorn, bottled water and hotel mini bars as some of the most overpriced items on the planet. There’s absolutely no reason for the Gillette Pro Glide, the most popular razor, to cost nearly $10. That’s 40 bucks a month to make sure the five o’clock shadow doesn’t arrive before noon.

But where there’s men stealing razors, there’s opportunity. The high cost of a decent shave has led to several new startups, like the Dollar Shave Club, that will send razors to a man’s home for about half the price.

Of the startups, Dollar Shave Club has been the most successful, primarily because of its snazzy commercials that encourage men to break from the shaving norm.

“Do you think your razor needs a vibrating handle, a flashlight, a back scratcher and 10 blades?” founder Michael Dubin asks in the most well-known commercial. “Your handsome ass uncle had one blade, and polio.”

Personally, I’ve tried the cheaper blades and for me, they just don’t cut it, literally. I used to shave with those plastic Bic disposable razors which is about as cheap as I could get. But as I’ve got older my beard has gotten tougher, so I need something with a little more horsepower. I use the Schick Quattro Titanium, which I buy in bulk when they offer four refills for the price of one.

Men who want to tame unwanted facial hair have it tougher the older we get. Not only do we have to buy expensive razors for our face, we have to buy trimmers to clip the hairs from our ears, noses and eyebrows. And we’re still not as sexy as Si Robertson.

One gentleman on the Dollar Shave Club forum said his beard was so tough, he was going to hammer it through his jaw and trim it with his teeth on the other side. I could use mine for sandpiper if I didn’t shave every day.

I’m just glad that companies like the Dollar Shave Club provide options to keep men solvent. They’ve also introduced One Wipe Charlies, a disposable bottom wipe for men.

An interesting concept, but at this point, I don’t consider toilet paper overpriced.

 

wsawyers@sentinel-echo.com

Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results