Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

February 27, 2014

Traces of Laurel: E.K. Wilson

(Continued)

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. —

            “The young man implicated and charged with the crime is none less than E.K. Wilson who, though he has been a citizen of our county only about nine years, has been honored more than once by the good citizens of this county . . .”

According to the Mountain Echo, which covered the criminal charges and the long, drawn out trial, Wilson became intimate with the young servant and when she got pregnant he promised to marry her but, instead, obtained medicines and an instrument of some kind and performed an abortion on her that caused her death.   This is a fascinating story that was covered in detail by the newspaper but which is much too long to go into here.  Wilson came from a noted and well-to-do family who fought the charges with all their might.  At one point the trial was moved from Laurel County to neighboring Rockcastle where Wilson was finally convicted and sentenced to five years in prison.  His lawyers filed at least two petitions for a pardon from the governor but these were denied and Wilson was moved to the state penitentiary in 1901.  He did not serve out his whole sentence, however, because in October of 1904 the Mountain Echo reports that “Mr. E.K. Wilson, formerly County Attorney of Laurel County, was here a few days this week.”

In reading the accounts of this incident in the Mountain Echo it is interesting to see how public opinion, at first outraged, subtly changed to reflect Wilson’s social standing vs. the young woman’s lack of it.  I’m guessing she was soon not only dead but forgotten.

            • • •

The Laurel County Historical Society is located at 310 W. 3rd St., London, (formerly the Laurel County Health Department). The society is open on Mondays and Wednesdays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., and on Saturdays from 9 a.m. until 12 noon. Visit the historical society’s website at www.laurelcountykyhistoticalsociety.org.

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results