Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

March 7, 2014

On The Rebound: Better days ahead for teams, tourney

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — There are seven counties that make up the teams in the 13th Region. After the first night of games, there was only one of those counties that did not have a team represented. That was of course Laurel County.

The North Laurel girls were the only Laurel County team to make it to the region tournament. It’s hard to fathom from a county that has produced so many state titles. It’s not just Laurel County that feels the pain, the attendance and atmosphere will not be the same at The Arena without North Laurel and South Laurel.

It’s not that Jackson County and Clay County will not represent their teams well. Bell County appeared to have the best turnout for their opening round girls’ game, although they had the longest drive. It’s just not the same without South and North. It’s Wrestlemania without Hulk Hogan.

If there was a year we didn’t advance to the region tournament, why couldn’t it have been last year when Harlan County hosted? I would not have complained about missing that drive. Corbin is closer with cheaper gas and better parking.

Maybe no one will miss us, but as a fan I would prefer Corbin, Clay County, and Bell County all to be there. It’s O.K. for a OBI or Red Bird to slip in. But no Laurel County teams is like going to watch the Heat play with LeBron getting the night off.

The good news is that this appears to be an unusual year. Order will return next season based on an informal poll of sportswriters conducted over pizza at the hospitality room.

Jackson County boasts the best record among the boy’s teams this year, but will have a big hole to fill with the graduation of Jordan Fox. Clay County loses Jake Allen and word is Chip McDaniel will graduate early to pursue his golf career. My opinion is that McDaniel is the best big-game player in the region. Bell County loses three seniors, including leading scorer Tyler Potter.

What the early returns show is that Knox Central will be a strong favorite entering next season. North Laurel and South Laurel are in a group that will be better and will be expected to challenge.

Much the same goes for the girls region with South Laurel and North Laurel young enough this season to be junior varsity teams. The Lady Jaguars have everyone back and South Laurel loses Bailey Miller. That might not be enough to catch a Bell County team led by the region’s best player, Maci Morris. It will be enough for two teams to get back to where they belong. And the 13th Region Tournament back to where it belongs as well.



mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results