Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

December 27, 2012

You Get The Picture: Don’t let your cheer disappear

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — During the weeks leading up to Christmas, I may have gotten myself “all in a tizzy” as the southerners say, but I’ve fully recovered and hopeful to make my wasted frustration into something more positive for next year.

Of all the events I endured that would make even a sloth lose its patience, I dealt with the exasperating Walmart holiday shoppers.  As Hank Williams Jr. would say, “pride’s not hard to swallow.  Once you chew it long enough.”  

Once I walked through those quick sliding doors bossing me in red bold letters which way I needed to exit or enter, I acquired the persona of James Bond on a mission.  With the grocery list in hand, I was popping items into my cart like gunfire — that is, until I got distracted by some delicious smelling candles, of course.  After I traveled through the scents of warm, vanilla cupcakes, cherry cobbler and sea spray, I gave up on picking out a single fragrance and went to grab my cart — that didn’t exist.

Someone had sneakily trailed off with my buggy — items included!  Well played Walmart shopper, well played.  After I frantically began looking for the much despised culprit, I made my way back to the foyer to grab yet another buggy.  I began popping items into my cart again, suppressing my frustration at every person within the store that got in my way.  

Once I had completed the dreaded task of grocery shopping, I finally reached the glorious check out line, with the beaming number six.  Lucky for me, there was only one person in line in front of me. “Success!” I joyfully whispered.  Fifteen minutes later, after a woman paid the cashier three dollars worth in pennies and four coupons, I finally got to swipe my debit card for an outstanding fee.  I wasn’t feeling quite the success I was hoping for at the time, but yet, I was still hopeful that the day would not end in shambles.

I pushed my cart out of the store as if it was a wayward child and exited out of the “ENTER” door right into the pouring rain.  

The moral of the story that day was not to avoid the grocery store during the holidays but that frustration doesn’t hurt anyone, only yourself.  I may have felt like I was done wrong, but I now realize that I had a major spiritual problem instead.  

Christmas is over for this year of 2012, but I beg of you, don’t let it be over yet for your chance at holiday cheer.  We could all use a year round smile and polite “thank you.”

mmccrarey@sentinel-echo.com

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results