Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

March 12, 2014

Direct Kick: Maryland says goodbye to the ACC

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — It was the end of an era, but what a way for it to end.

After 63 years in the Atlantic Coast Conference, the Maryland Terrapins closed out their final ACC home game with a thrilling 75-69 overtime win against No. 5 Virginia Sunday afternoon at the Comcast Center.

Maryland, a charter member of the ACC, will be leaving at the end of this school year and become a member of the Big 10 next season.

For me this was a sad occasion, having been a Maryland fan since I started following college basketball. I’ve been through the good times (the 2002 national title) the bad times (probation) and the sad times (the death of Len Bias). But my support of the Terps never wavered.

I was there when Lefty Driesell proclaimed that he wanted to make Maryland “The UCLA of the East.” While he never did accomplish that, he did led the Terps to eight NCAA tournament appearances, two ACC regular season titles, one ACC tournament championship and one NIT title. Back in those days the NCAA tournament field wasn’t as large as it is today. Prior to 1975 only one team per conference could be in the tournament. He led Maryland to a No. 2 ranking during four consecutive seasons (1972 to 1976). He also recruited such stars as Tom McMillen, Len Elmore, John Lucas, Albert King, Buck Williams and the aforementioned Len Bias. He had also signed Moses Malone but Malone decided to go pro instead.

Many people might not know this but it was Maryland and Driesell that began Midnight Madness. Unfortunately he was also the coach when Bias died, which led to his resigning, though many felt he was a scapegoat for chancellor John B. Slaughter and the university administration.

I remember the day I heard that Len Bias died, then when it came out that it was due to cocaine, I remember my grief turning to anger. I was there when Gary Williams led the Terps to their only NCAA title in 2002.

I hate the fact that rivalries with Duke and North Carolina will no longer be. Those were such heated affairs. Maybe some new rivalries will develop, such as with Ohio State, Indiana, Michigan or Michigan State. Still it won’t be the same.

Of course the ACC hasn’t been the same since they expanded to include such teams as Syracuse, Boston College and Pittsburgh. It never felt the same with those teams involved.

So I, like Maryland, must bid a fond adieu to the ACC. It’s been a fun run and I will miss you. You have been a big part of my life. Now let’s see if the Big 10 can fill that void.

sports@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results