Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

December 3, 2013

A Canuck in Kantuck: The Tides that pulled me here

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — This year for Thanksgiving, my sister-in-law Teresa has us all ranking our favorite things in life. It’s a list of 20 different questions — what’s your favorite book, favorite song, favorite Christmas memory, favorite food, favorite T.V. show — and last night Gabrielle and I sat filling it out.

While choosing favorites is a somewhat painful exercise for Gabrielle and her dad, I absolutely love it. Ranking things is part of my DNA and, much to Gabrielle’s dismay, each family vacation always ends with me asking her to list her top three favorite things about the trip. For me, ranking is a light-hearted way to count one’s blessings, review an experience and be reminded how lucky you were to have it.

Anyway, one of the favorites questions was to choose my favorite quote and, with absolutely no hesitation, I started writing, “My wound is geography. It is also my anchorage, my port of call.”

The quote is from the book “The Prince of Tides” by Pat Conroy. Regardless of what you thought of Nick Nolte and Barbra Streisand in the movie (I didn’t think much of either of them, to tell you the truth), the book is one of my favorites — though not the favorite, that spot is reserved for “The Sun Also Rises.” For those of you who haven’t read “Prince,” I can’t recommend it enough. It’s a beautiful, magnetic read about family, mental illness, childhood, new love and, most importantly for me, South Carolina.

I read the book when I was in high school upon the recommendation of my friend Molly Kirk. She was a big reader, in no small part because she had an uncle who worked for some kind of book-binding company so she always had a lot of books whose front covers had been ripped off. She introduced me first to John Irving’s “The World According to Garp” and “A Prayer for Owen Meany.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results