Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

January 29, 2013

My Point Is...Celebrating Life

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Looking into the face of a cousin and gathering with family brought back memories as the Bailey family mourned the loss of yet another member last week.

The life of my cousin, Jerry Bailey, has its own special moments for the many people who knew him, just as the passing of any loved one holds.

Jerry was the youngest child of my Uncle Jim and Aunt Betty Bailey and he was an avid basketball player. Jerry was a member of the last graduating class of Hazel Green High School in 1970, where he played on the basketball team. I remember listening to the games over the radio and always cheering when the Bullfrogs along. Jerry, Clyde Ray, and Bradley Stines were just three of the neighborhood boys whose early claim to fame came at Hazel Green High School.

Jerry fought cancer for more than five years, but it didn’t stop him from doing what he wanted to do. For the past several years he accompanied some friends and family on Colorado hunting trips, even when his brother-in-laws and cousins had to devise a battery operated blender for Jerry because it was nearly impossible for him to swallow due to the cancer in his throat. He managed to spend New Year’s weekend with his three sisters who now grieve for the loss of their last brother just three weeks later.

Saying that last good-bye is reason enough to cherish and celebrate the life, and to recognize those who play a vital role in our journey. This past week has been a revelation of that reality and celebrating the joys in life has taken the forefront.

A personal achievement is the beginning of my fourth year back at The Sentinel-Echo. My storied history with The Sentinel since 1995 is a colorful trek of personal and professional evolution. With each of the Editorial staff winning awards the Kentucky Press Association ceremony last Friday, I feel that the ‘prodigal child’ who walked out the doors in December 2001 in search of greener pastures finally found her way home again on January 27, 2010.

That significant date is one I will never forget, especially since it is the birthday of my daughter, LeeAnn. The many challenges we faced as a family in our younger years solidified her resolve to succeed and she has done so with diligence and dedication. While she prefers to keep her life private, I will say that she has faced and overcome challenges when other people might have given up. She rises to each challenge with determination to overcome and tackles whatever trials face her. The pride I have in her accomplishments is immeasurable, the same way I have pride for my son, Rickey.

It is the tribulations and triumphant moments that make life so precious and  delicate. It is the things we hold dear that will comfort us in times of trouble and will carry us through. Life, and those who make it special, should be celebrated at every chance, for there is no guarantee that the opportunity will be given again.

We should never wait until we look into the face of a loved one for that final good-bye to realize all the things we should have said and done.

njohnson@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results