Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

June 27, 2014

On The Rebound: LeBron Decision II tougher than first

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — LeBron James has announced he will take the early termination option of his contract and become a free agent. That does not mean LeBron will leave the Miami Heat, but that he does have the option. He also has the option to pressure the Heat owners to assemble the team he wants.

Maybe LeBron James has no concern for public opinion. If he does, then he should stop flopping like a fish thrown onto the bank every time someone of lesser proportions touches him.  All indications are that James is sensitive about his legacy. Another jump would make him look more selfish than his last “Decision.”

There is one sure way for The King to win back the majority of the fans he has disenfranchised over the last four years. Sign today with the Cleveland Cavaliers regardless of what other moves they make. Then stay there for the rest of his career. I’m not saying that is what I would do, but it is the only way.

LeBron wants what Tim Duncan owns. Duncan has won multiple titles and has earned nothing but respect while winning them. If he wanted to be Duncan he should have stayed in Cleveland, so that ship has sailed.

The next thing the King wants is to win and win big. He is stung by the fact that his team just lost in the NBA Finals by more points than any team in history.

There are a lot of options for LeBron with Cleveland getting the most attention. There he would be paired with a star point guard in Kyrie Irving and the No. 1 pick in this year’s NBA draft. Those are good building blocks and potentially another big three, but the King isn’t about building projects.

The Cavaliers have also talked about adding Carmelo Anthony, which might change things. The Lakers and Hawks are also interested in adding Carmelo and or James. The Hawks are following the plans of San Antonio on how to build a team, but again we are talking building.

James Hardin and Dwight Howard in Houston are a big two that needs a third. That seems like a better fit for Anthony than LeBron. The big three has to be unselfish.

Derrick Rose and Joakim Noah need another star in Chicago, but Rose has missed two seasons. It would also be another slap in the face of Cleveland fans if LeBron returned to a rival in their division.

It comes down to this; the Heat will still be the best team in the Eastern Conference. If they had not allowed Mike Miller to leave and waived Patrick Beverly they possibly could have won this year’s title.

They lost to a team whose three stars all took pay cuts and remember who LeBron will try to emulate. Wade is not going anywhere. If he does opt out, it probably means all three are taking a pay cut to stay with the Heat.

Throw in the fact that Florida has no state income tax, which is kind of a big deal when you make over $20 million a year. My money goes with LeBron to stay in Miami, but my bank account never held $20 million.

mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Facebook
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results