Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

February 22, 2013

On The Rebound: Would you have traded places with Pistorius?

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — It is impossible for someone with two strong legs and a life fairly devoid of adversity to comprehend the obstacles Oscar Pistorius has overcome. It is equally impossible to comprehend how someone who has reached athletic success at an Olympic level and the fame of having a moniker like “Blade Runner” could have potentially done an act such as Pistorius is accused.

Let’s begin with the background. Pistorius was born without the fibula bones in his lower legs due to a congenital defect. The lower portion of his legs was removed at 11 months. It appears Pistorius led an otherwise normal life in a Christian home, which included participating in sports such as rugby and tennis.  He was 18 before he took up running with great success. Once fitted with blade-like prosthetics, he became known as Blade Runner.

In 2012, Pistorius became the first double amputee to compete in the Olympic Games. He now had money and fame, along with a super model girlfriend, Reeva Steenkamp. There are a lot of people that would have traded their legs for Pistorius’ lot in life.

Now they wouldn’t.

On Valentine’s Day, Steenkamp was shot and killed at Pistorius’ home. There is no question Pistorius held the gun. The debate is whether he acted in rage or as he argues that he mistook her for an intruder. Police had been called to the home previously for incidents of a “domestic nature.” Pistorius is due a fair trial, but the court of public opinion has made their decision. On Feb. 19, as Pistorius gave testimony in the fatal shooting, Steenkamp’s body was being cremated.

People die every day and there are countless acts of violence that cannot be explained. This one I can’t get out of my mind. Why would someone who had overcome so much, allegedly risk a life in prison with an act of violence? Why would a beautiful woman allow herself to remain in an atmosphere or violence and abuse when she had so many other options?

It is cliché that money and fame do not protect you from anger, hate, or other emotions. But surely it could buy you an escape route that the average blue collar worker does not have. It is not like either one could not have picked up the pieces from this relationship and moved on.

Maybe he was just so in love with her? Ridiculous. You do not act with violence toward someone you love. It is only a sign of your weakness or need to show power, and that’s not love.

I wish I did not picture this beautiful young lady cowering in a bathroom pleading for her life. I wish Pistorius could still symbolize that we can overcome any obstacle placed before us. Instead his legacy will be success does not insulate us from basic human emotion.

Even if found not guilty, this is a race he cannot win.



mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results