Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 17, 2012

Direct Kick: Orioles lack of playoff experience showed

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Baltimore’s amazing season came to an end Friday night with a 3-1 loss to the New York Yankees in the American League Divisional Series.

That the Orioles even made it this far stunned the so-called experts, and to be truthful, it stunned me too.

As a life-long O’s fan, just getting the chance to cheer them in October was special. That hadn’t happened since 1996 and 1997, the last time they made the playoffs. Before that, you had to go all the way back to 1983, the year they won their third World Series.

The loss to the Yanks was tough to take, but really, it didn’t surprise me too much. After all, New York had tons of playoff experience, while the O’s had virtually zero, except for Jim Thome.

Jeffrey Tomik, sports editor of The Washington Examiner, wrote in his October 9 column that he didn’t think playoff experience was as important as many make it out to be. I would have to disagree.

Case in point: Adam Jones, Chris Davis, Mark Reynolds and Matt Wieters. The heart of the Baltimore line-up. During the regular season, these four combined for 111 home runs and 319 RBI. During this year’s post season (including the wild card game with Texas), they combined for 0 home runs and 4 RBI.

All four struggled at the plate. Jones was 2-for-26 with a .077 batting average. He admitted that he was having trouble slowing himself down during the post season. He was swinging at bad pitches and well, just trying too hard. The same with the other three. Davis was 5-for-24 with a .208 average; Reynolds, 3-for-22, .136; and Wieters, 3-for-25, .125.

Not that New York was having much better luck. This series was a match-up of the two top home run hitting teams in the American League, yet there were only six hit between the two teams, and not one of those was hit by Alex Rodriguez, who once again struggled during the post season, so much that he was benched for the deciding game 5.

He wasn’t the only Yankee to struggle at the dish. Mark Teixeria, Robinson Cano and Curtis Granderson also failed to produce most of the time, though Granderson did have one of the New York home runs.

The difference was New York knew how to take advantage when the opportunity presented itself. Baltimore is still learning that.

The pitching was good enough by both teams to win each game, though Baltimore’s ace closer, Jim Johnson, wasn’t as sharp as he had been during the season. Once again I think it came down to never having that playoff experience. It’s a lot different pitching in that atmosphere.

I hope that the Orioles can keep this team together for the next few years, along with adding a little more depth to their starting pitching. I don’t think this was a fluke year. I believe they will be a contender for the next few seasons.

If they do make the playoffs next year I believe that you will see a different Baltimore Oriole team take the field. They will be more confident. They will have had a playoff experience under their belts. And they hopefully will still have Buck Showalter as coach.

This could be the start of another glorious era in the rich history of the Orioles.

sports@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results