Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

September 26, 2013

Traces of Laurel: More about churches

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Thanks to Bill Harrison for writing me about the original site of Hopewell Methodist church. Mr. Harrison grew up in the East Bernstadt Methodist Church which dates back to Hopewell.  He writes:  “It was always my understanding the original site of Hopewell Methodist (1810) was located at the junction of Bethel Hill Road and Hwy. 3434 in E. Bernstadt, a site now occupied by Mose Feltner’s house.  This was on the original Boone Trace and the Wilderness Road and was upstream about two miles from the original Hazel Patch (not to be confused with the Hazel Patch Crossing). ”  

From this information, I conclude the old frame church I was married in did not sit on the original site.  I’m also pretty sure that Bethel Hill Road and Hwy. 3434 are more recent names for those long ago trails but I’m happy to know the old site can still be pinpointed.  I plan to see if I can find it.

Moving on, the preface of Thomas J. and Henry S. Pate’s booklet “Laurel County History of Churches and Schools” (1900) is quite profound (though quaint). Before I began to write from the historical data on churches contained there, I thought readers might be interested in hearing selected passages from their introduction.  It’s too long to print in its entirety.

“Having a desire to hold up and support the two great pillars of true citizenship to any nation – education and religion – the writers humbly submit the pages of this booklet for its readers to peruse, hoping some good may come out of the same for the betterment of our schools and churches.  No sensationalism of the secular press is permitted to mar these pages.  Partyism in politics is not found here.  It is also free from sectarianism in religion.  Matrimonialism in the moonlight, when the whippoorwill makes her trill so plaint and sweet, and when the twinkling stars smile over the parting kiss given, need not be sought for in these pages. . .

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results