Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

September 26, 2013

Traces of Laurel: More about churches

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Thanks to Bill Harrison for writing me about the original site of Hopewell Methodist church. Mr. Harrison grew up in the East Bernstadt Methodist Church which dates back to Hopewell.  He writes:  “It was always my understanding the original site of Hopewell Methodist (1810) was located at the junction of Bethel Hill Road and Hwy. 3434 in E. Bernstadt, a site now occupied by Mose Feltner’s house.  This was on the original Boone Trace and the Wilderness Road and was upstream about two miles from the original Hazel Patch (not to be confused with the Hazel Patch Crossing). ”  

From this information, I conclude the old frame church I was married in did not sit on the original site.  I’m also pretty sure that Bethel Hill Road and Hwy. 3434 are more recent names for those long ago trails but I’m happy to know the old site can still be pinpointed.  I plan to see if I can find it.

Moving on, the preface of Thomas J. and Henry S. Pate’s booklet “Laurel County History of Churches and Schools” (1900) is quite profound (though quaint). Before I began to write from the historical data on churches contained there, I thought readers might be interested in hearing selected passages from their introduction.  It’s too long to print in its entirety.

“Having a desire to hold up and support the two great pillars of true citizenship to any nation – education and religion – the writers humbly submit the pages of this booklet for its readers to peruse, hoping some good may come out of the same for the betterment of our schools and churches.  No sensationalism of the secular press is permitted to mar these pages.  Partyism in politics is not found here.  It is also free from sectarianism in religion.  Matrimonialism in the moonlight, when the whippoorwill makes her trill so plaint and sweet, and when the twinkling stars smile over the parting kiss given, need not be sought for in these pages. . .

Text Only
Opinion
  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

  • Mary Robinson

    Mary Robinson, 86, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at her residence.  

     

    July 3, 2014

  • Wilma Reid Stillings

    Wilma Stillings, 74, of West Laurel Road, London, Ky., passed away Saturday, June 28, 2014, at Baptist Health Hospital in Corbin, Ky.

     

    July 3, 2014

  • The American Holiday

    The upcoming weekend allows Americans to celebrate Independence Day - the day our founding fathers designated this country as free from the English rule with the right to pursue our own destiny in a new country.

    July 2, 2014

  • Argument for death penalty is weak, at best

    Defending the fact that in 2014 the United States still practices capital punishment is becoming increasingly difficult.

     

    June 30, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate UN Secretary-General Urges Mideast Ceasefire 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta At Texas Border, a Daily Tide of Poor Migrants Raw: Rescuers Push Beached Whale Back to Ocean Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results