Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

March 21, 2014

On The Rebound: Rooting for the one that left

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — Do you remember Ryan Harrow’s last SEC Tournament game?

Last year in UK’s  semifinal loss to Vanderbilt, Harrow’s 2-of-15 shooting pretty much assured the Wildcats were headed to the NIT. That combined with a first-round NIT loss to Robert Morris had nearly every UK fan rejoicing when Harrow transferred to Georgia State.

The reason for Harrow’s transfer was reported to have been the health issues of his father, but some conspiracy theorists are convinced Cal pushed him out the door so a pair of twins could walk in the door. Harrow was granted a hardship waiver by the NCAA, an organization that has no history of being considerate of an individual player’s personal issues.

Harrow appeared headed for the NCAA Tournament when Georgia Southern won a school –record 14-straight games and finished with a 25-9 record. They also won the Sun Belt conference, but an overtime loss in the conference tournament championship sent Harrow back to the NIT.

Harrow told reporter Trey Iles that playing in the postseason this year brought back the not-so-pleasant memories.

“I actually had nightmares last night about the SEC Tournament thinking, “How am I going to play in the tournament,” Harrow said.

Harrow averaged 17.2 points and 4.4 assists in the regular season. Those are solid numbers, granted he was playing teams like Troy and Louisiana-Lafayette instead of Florida and LSU.

In the tournament championship, Harrow scored 37 points with seven rebounds and two assists. It wasn’t enough as the Panthers lost in overtime. It was a career high for Harrow, who missed an off-balance bank shot in the final seconds that would have won the game.

So it looks like Harrows only trip to the Final Four will be in 2012 with Kentucky. The Wildcats won it all that year, but Harrow was not eligible after transferring from North Carolina State. He even had to pay his own way to the tournament.

Watching Harrow in the first round of the NIT, you could see glimpse of the talent that made him so highly recruited. There might still be a professional basketball future at some level. Chances are he will never hear the applause or boos again like he heard at the University of Kentucky.

There are few things as widely followed and hyped as UK basketball. Family might not get the publicity of a major college basketball team or the stars that are worshipped by millions of fans. Still no team is as a big or important as a true family. It looks like Harrow made the right choice. Just ask his dad, who only had to drive 10 miles to see his son play.

mhoward@sentinel-echo.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: An almost completely true fish tale

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: Did Lana cross the line with her remark?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results