Sentinel-Echo.com

Opinion

October 14, 2013

Points East: I’m smiling ear to ear

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. — The 2013 garden growing season is not over yet but it’s winding down fast here in the Paint Lick suburbs at 249 Charlie Brown Road.  And it has been, easily so, the best growing season that I have experienced this young century.

  Late last Sunday afternoon I hustled through the garden trying to beat the approaching rain storm but I still got drenched.  Even so, I brought in a five gallon bucket full of stuff — a big mess of Bufford Caudill fall beans, Bodacious sweet corn, Brandywine and Molly Helton tomatoes, a couple of English cucumbers and half a dozen huge, thick-walled bell peppers.

So I said to Loretta I believed these were the best peppers we’ve had since we’ve lived here and she said, “Nope these are the best bell peppers you’ve ever grown since I’ve known you and please don’t be putting how long that’s been in the paper because some people think I still look young.” 

My wife is becoming vain in her old age but please don’t tell anybody I said that cause it might get back to her.  Meanwhile, let’s get back to the garden. 

We are eating on and sharing our third crop of sweet corn of the year this week. Loretta has the same opinion of it as she has of the peppers.  Back around the first of August, I told my brother Keeter I’d just planted a row of late-season bodacious and he said, “Well it might make fodder, but it won’t make corn.”

Not only did it make corn but the ears are huge and the kernels so sweet they make my false teeth hurt.  I’m taking some over to Tom and Julie Miller’s in Berea to cook out Wednesday evening so that I’ll have witnesses.   Even my skeptical brother will believe Julie Miller. Actually, he’ll believe Loretta but I figure two solid witnesses are better than one.  That’s not to suggest Tom is not also a reliable witness, but Keeter will believe anything a woman tells him while he doubts most men if they claim to be friends of mine.  

Text Only
Opinion
  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: All Star Game less important than Wiffle Ball

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • denis.jpg Direct Kick: A very eventful week in sports

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • The shining kingdom

    The drop in gas prices locally is a welcome sight for most residents in the area with gas falling under $3.60 per gallon.

    July 16, 2014

  • Letter to the editor: Thanks, Sentinel-Echo

    In the July 4 edition of the Sentinel-Echo, (last page, section 1), the entire page was given to quotes of references to God, the Declaration of Independence, and our constitution by our founding fathers, former presidents, Supreme Court judges, etc. 

    July 14, 2014

  • Zamperini's story was inspiring

    I had never heard the names of Louis Zamperini and Russel Allen Phillips until my pastor gave me a book, “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption,” by author Laura Hillenbrand, who wrote, “Seabiscuit: An American Legend” a few years ago.

    July 11, 2014

  • The tales of Dr. Robert E. Pennington

    When Dr. H. V. Pennington began to practice medicine in Laurel County times were hard and medical methods were primitive, compared to today. 

    July 11, 2014

  • Where did that red truck go?

     We were sitting out on the front porch last Saturday afternoon when a  big, red, late- model pick up whizzed by on Charlie Brown.  It looked like there was a man driving and a woman riding shotgun  

    July 7, 2014

  • A change for Pace

    Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.Let me tell you a little about my friend Candice Pace. We were sitting in the fountain square the other day and she was telling me about how she had driven to Pikeville, where she’s from, to visit with her mom. Along the way, deep in McCreary County, she passed three turtles that were crossing the road.

    July 7, 2014

  • mitch.jpg On The Rebound: A little effort can make a big difference

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gordon Wayne Weston

    Gordon Wayne Weston, 61, of London, Ky., passed away Friday, June 27, 2014, at his home surrounded by his loving family. 

     

    July 3, 2014

Facebook
AP Video
Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Now that school is out, what are your family’s summer vacation plans?

A. No major plans. We will probably hang out around Laurel County.
B. Going to the beach!
C. Kentucky has a lot of wonderful state parks, and we plan to visit a few and enjoy quality family time.
     View Results