Fall and winter nominees announced for 3rd annual TRISPY Awards

The fall and winter sports nominees have now been released for the third annual TRISPY Awards, which honors the top high school athletes in Laurel, Knox and Whitley counties.

This year’s TRISPY Awards will be held Tuesday, June 18, at the London Community Center.

The event, co-hosted by The Sentinel-Echo and The Times-Tribune, will feature awards in more than 30 categories, and will include individual awards for each sport, a Player of the Year for both girls and boys, and an Athlete of the Year for both girls and boys. Plus, Student-Athletes of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Inspirational Award and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Listed below are fall and winter sport nominees in each category:

Fall sports nominees (listed alphabetical order)

Girls Cross Country

Selena Mattingly, Williamsburg

Phoebe McCowan, South Laurel

Hannah Morton, Corbin

Boys Cross Country

Drew Meader, South Laurel

Sean Simons, Corbin

Austin Terrell, Corbin

Girls Golf

Hallie Boles, Barbourville

Whitney Messer, Barbourville

Morgan Owens-Lewis, Williamsburg

Boys Golf

Cole Brown, Whitley County

Eli Fischer, Corbin

Braden Reed, South Laurel


Dalton Cook, Lynn Camp

Chase Estep, Corbin

Ethan Wine, Corbin


Lennox Brinks, North Laurel

Kiley Collett, South Laurel

Emily Prewitt, Corbin

Girls Soccer

Lily Messer, North Laurel

Emily Royster, South Laurel

Olivia Rudder, North Laurel

Boys Soccer

Trey Cima, Corbin

Gage Jackson, South Laurel

Trevor Smith, South Laurel

Winter sports nominees (listed alphabetical order)

Girls Basketball

Ally Collett, South Laurel

Raegan Hubbard, North Laurel

Amerah Steele, South Laurel

Boys Basketball

Jaylen Adams, Knox Central

Nick Martin, Knox Central

JJ Ramey, South Laurel

Girls Swimming

Elle Hays, Corbin

Cierra Ledford, Corbin

Taylor Miller, Corbin

Lydia Smith, Barbourville

Boys Swimming

Cory Bentley, South Laurel

Jonah Black, Corbin

Keller Brown, North Laurel

Girls Bowling

Shayla Atherton, Corbin

Jacqueline Oliphant, Whitley County

Taylor Petrey, Corbin

Boys Bowling

Kevin Allen, Corbin

Jeffrey Zach Carter, Corbin

Nathaniel Smith, Corbin

Boys Wrestling

Jayden Watson, Whitley County

Steve Watson, Whitley County

Victor Zamora, Whitley County

Girls Wrestling

Lauren Mattney, Whitley County

Jaine Stephens, Whitley County

Cara Whitehead, Whitley County

Cheer Team

Corbin High School

Knox Central High School

North Laurel High School

Tickets are free, but you must reserve your ticket prior to the event at https://2019trispys.brownpapertickets.com/. Limited seating is available.

React to this story:


Recommended for you