Bill Depew registers to vote Tuesday at London No. 1 precinct at the Laurel County Fire Department. Several others wait in line to vote during the last hour before the polls closed.


* Danny Phelps 1,526

* Nancy Vaughn 1,476

* Bill Dezarn 1,440

* Judd Weaver 1,344

* Sharon Benge 1,247

* Jason Handy 1,242

John Bruner 1,134

Barbara Cox 1,079

Michael Napier 717

* — top six elected*

The London City Council remains essentially the same, as only one of the six seats changed hands in Tuesday’s election.

Former Council Member Sharon Benge, who gave up her seat in 2006 to run for mayor, returns to the council, taking the seat held by Barbara Cox.

“I’m thrilled to death but glad it’s over,” Benge said. “I’m ready to go to work.”

Benge said as she promised in her ads, she will work to enact a smoking ban in public places in London.

Benge will join incumbents, Danny Phelps, Bill Dezarn, Nancy Vaughn, Jason Handy and Judd Weaver on the six-person council.

Unofficial results had Phelps and Vaughn leading with 1,526 and 1,476 votes respectively.

Nancy Vaughn kept a running total as the night progressed, smiling when the totals showed voters had returned her for a second consecutive term.

“I’m thrilled to death,” Vaughn said. “I can’t wait for the opportunity to serve the people of London for another two years.”

Dezarn garnered 1,440 votes, Weaver finished with 1,344, Benge had 1,247 and Handy was the sixth member with 1,242.

Marking 20 years on the council, Dezarn said he will take a wait and see approach as to what issue should be a priority for the council, but thanked his supporters.

“I really appreciate the people that thought enough of me to vote for me,” Dezarn said.

Handy also spent the evening at the Laurel County Courthouse keeping a running total as the results came in and were announced.

“There is plenty to do,” Handy said as he double-checked his numbers.

London Mayor Troy Rudder said he is excited about the makeup of the council and looks forward to working with them. However, he said over the last two years, he has grown close to the council members.

“It is always sad if any of them leaves,” Rudder said.

Each council member will serve a two-year term. The new council will take office in January.



Second District

* Ed Jones (unopposed) 2,029

Fifth District

* Bud Stuber 1,708

Patrick Murphy 1,656

Fourth District

* Lola Owens Reed 1,165

William Ray Evans 1,153

Mark A. Begley 1,056

* — one elected from each district

In the tightest race in the county, incumbent Lola Owens Reed held on to her Laurel County School Board seat by 12 votes Tuesday. Bud Stuber will join her on the board, representing the fifth district. Stuber beat Patrick Murphy by 52 votes.

All tallies are unofficial.

Stuber replaces Albert Binder, who chose not to run this year.

Reed was happy to be re-elected.

“I’m excited, I am, because I felt that’s where I am supposed to be,” Reed said. “I love investing in the children and being able to just not see any of them going through the cracks. It’s being involved in the children’s lives and with the administration of the community. I look forward to the things that we will do, I really mean that. I’m lost for words.”

Despite the close race against Reed, William Ray Evans said he will not ask for a recount.

“Don’t see no reason to,” he said. “I guess they counted them right.”

Evans said he felt OK with the outcome.

“It’s all right, I guess,” he said. “I just wish I had 13 more.”

For his part, Stuber was thrilled.

“I’m excited because I worked really hard at it,” he said. “I take it as that I have worked hard volunteering for the last 40 years in the county and people appreciate that.”

When asked what he plans to do when he joins the School Board, he said he will bide his time.

“I’m going to pay attention to what’s happening,” he said. “You can’t go in and try to change everything right away because the perception from the outside can be different than reality.”

Stuber, who owns The Computer Place, said he decided to run for the seat because he thought he could contribute to the School Board.

“I thought that it was time to have some people with business experience on the School Board,” he said.

Eddie Jones, who ran unopposed this year, welcomed both to the board.

“I look forward to the challenges ahead for the board,” he said.

The School Board will be composed of Reed, Stuber, Jones, Joe Schenkenfelder and Tommy Smith.



* John Chappell 14,974

Gilbert Holland 10,741

District Judge John Paul Chappell will return to the bench, as he held a big lead over Gilbert Holland in election results available Tuesday night. According to unofficial results, Chappell received 70 percent of the more 16,000 votes cast in Laurel County. He received 11,729 votes to 4,944 for Holland. Hollland got 5,797 votes in Knox County compared to 3,245 for Chappell.

Chappell won the overall total, 14,974 to 10,741.

Chappell was appointed to the seat vacated when Michael Caperton was elected to the Kentucky Court of Appeals in May.



* Kenny Woodruff 238

* Robert Frost 214

Tom Caudel 157

* Top two elected

Robert Frost unseated 17-year incumbent Tom Caudel by 57 votes, while Kenny Woodruff was re-elected for another term on the East Bernstadt School Board.

The unofficial results showed Woodruff with 238 votes, Frost with 214 and Caudel with 157.

Frost was unavailable for comment.

Woodruff, a 17-year veteran on the board, thanked the voters.

“I thank all the voters for standing behind me,” Woodruff said. “I’ve been on the board for 17-plus years and I appreciate their support. They’ve been tremendous about supporting me over the past and I’ll still continue to do more, and even strive to do more than in the past, to serve our community. I’m always available at the nearest phone.”

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you