3rd annual Trispy Awards set to take place Tuesday

The fall, winter and spring sports nominees have been released for the third annual Trispy Awards, which honors the top high school athletes in Laurel, Knox and Whitley counties.

This year’s Trispy Awards will be held Tuesday, June 18, at the London Community Center.

The event, co-hosted by The Sentinel-Echo, The Times-Tribune and Union College, will feature awards in more than 30 categories, and will include individual awards for each sport, a Player of the Year for both girls and boys, and an Athlete of the Year for both girls and boys. Plus, Student-Athletes of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Inspirational Award and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tickets are sold out for the event. You must bring your ticket with you to be able to enter.

Listed below are fall, winter, and spring sports nominees in each category:

Fall sports nominees

(listed in alphabetical order)

Girls Cross Country

Selena Mattingly, Williamsburg

Phoebe McCowan, South Laurel

Hannah Morton, Corbin

Boys Cross Country

Drew Meader, South Laurel

Sean Simons, Corbin

Austin Terrell, Corbin

Girls Golf

Hallie Boles, Barbourville

Whitney Messer, Barbourville

Morgan Owens-Lewis, Williamsburg

Boys Golf

Cole Brown, Whitley County

Eli Fischer, Corbin

Braden Reed, South Laurel


Dalton Cook, Lynn Camp

Chase Estep, Corbin

Ethan Wine, Corbin


Lennox Brinks, North Laurel

Kiley Collett, South Laurel

Emily Prewitt, Corbin

Girls Soccer

Lily Messer, North Laurel

Emily Royster, South Laurel

Olivia Rudder, North Laurel

Boys Soccer

Trey Cima, Corbin

Gage Jackson, South Laurel

Trevor Smith, South Laurel

Winter sports nominees

Girls Basketball

Ally Collett, South Laurel

Raegan Hubbard, North Laurel

Amerah Steele, South Laurel

Boys Basketball

Jaylen Adams, Knox Central

Nick Martin, Knox Central

JJ Ramey, South Laurel

Girls Swimming

Elle Hays, Corbin

Cierra Ledford, Corbin

Taylor Miller, Corbin

Lydia Smith, Barbourville

Boys Swimming

Cory Bentley, South Laurel

Jonah Black, Corbin

Keller Brown, North Laurel

Girls Bowling

Shayla Atherton, Corbin

Jacqueline Oliphant, Whitley County

Taylor Petrey, Corbin

Boys Bowling

Kevin Allen, Corbin

Jeffrey Zach Carter, Corbin

Nathaniel Smith, Corbin

Boys Wrestling

Jayden Watson, Whitley County

Steve Watson, Whitley County

Victor Zamora, Whitley County

Girls Wrestling

Lauren Mattney, Whitley County

Jaine Stephens, Whitley County

Cara Whitehead, Whitley County

Cheer Team

Corbin High School

Knox Central High School

North Laurel High School

Spring sports nominees

Bass Fishing

Brayden Bridges and Noah Creech, North Laurel

Shawn Coots and Trent Keltner, South Laurel

Lance Smith and Hunter Bright, Knox Central

Boys Archery

Dylan Dixon, South Laurel

Blake Osborne, North Laurel

Zach Wilson, South Laurel

Girls Archery

Savannah Hammack, North Laurel

Kylie Hess, North Laurel

Savannah Hoffman, Barbourville

Julia Shepherd, Lynn Camp

Boys Tennis

Reece Halcomb, Whitley County

Peyton Hamlin, Corbin

Alex Smith, Knox Central

Girls Tennis

Jaron Gray, North Laurel

Leanna Osborne, Knox Central

Samantha Spady, Corbin


Chase Estep, Corbin

Peyton Payne, Knox Central

Caleb Rains, Whitley County


Payten Gregory, North Laurel

Lindsey Shope, Whitley County

Emily Sizemore, North Laurel

Boys Track and Field

Tyler Neal, Corbin

River Braden, Whitley County

Victor Clark, North Laurel

Jacob Robinson, North Laurel

Girls Track and Field

Daniella Jackson, North Laurel

Selena Mattingly, Williamsburg

Phoebe McCowan, South Laurel

Coach of the Year

Justin Haddix, Corbin

Dennis Hammonds, South Laurel

Eddie Mahan, North Laurel

Team of the Year

Corbin Football

North Laurel Girls Basketball

South Laurel Bass Fishing

Male Breakout

Treyveon Longmire, Corbin Football

Dylan Hoskins, Knox Central Football

Reed Sheppard, North Laurel Basketball

Female Breakout

Sydnie Hall, South Laurel Basketball

Kaley Hendrickson, Lynn Camp Softball

Raegan Hubbard, North Laurel Basketball

Female Athlete of the Year

Amerah Steele, South Laurel

Selena Mattingly, Williamsburg

Phoebe McCowan, South Laurel

Male Athlete of the Year

Jaylan Adams, Knox Central

Chase Estep, Corbin

Jake Robinson, North Laurel

Female Player of the Year

Ally Collett, South Laurel

Whitney Messer, Barbourville

Samantha Spady, Corbin

Male Player of the Year

Dalton Cook, Lynn Camp

Blake Osborne, North Laurel

JJ Ramey, South Laurel

Female Student-Athlete of the Year

Kami Garland, Corbin

Male Student-Athlete of the Year

River Braden, Whitley County

Inspirational Story Male

Zach Patterson, Knox Central

Inspirational Story Female

Raegan Hubbard, North Laurel

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mary Weddle Hines

React to this story:


Recommended for you